8

DAY 8:

I really can’t complain about today at all. I slept like a rock last night. I didn’t wake up a single time until 5 am, and that was with Stephen coming to bed at some point. I had a ton of energy today, I wasn’t cranky or on edge. I have a few cravings, but nothing out of control. Crappy food is even starting to look and sound gross to me, so that’s a perk.

After work today I went to the lake to help Stephen gather plants for his Botany class and ended up getting a really good trail run in. I burned something like 550 calories. While that doesn’t mean a whole lot when you’re not tracking calories, it was still a good workout. It felt good and I was having fun.

trail-running

The only downer of my day is that I have a pretty massive headache. But I think that might be related to the lack of coffee today rather than anything related to my eating. I don’t really want to get addicted to caffeine so I think I’ll stay away from the coffee for a while.

Menu for today:

Breakfast: left over hash from the weekend. Man that stuff is so good. I wish I could have it every day, but it is pretty labor intensive to make so that’s probably not going to happen.

Lunch: leftover turkey burger, avocado, and leftover Brussels sprouts slaw. It was really very satisfying

Snack before working out: homemade chicken salad with red onion, grapes, and celery.

Dinner: holy yumminess. Put chicken thighs in the crock pot this morning to get them cooked and delicious. We took them out at about 5 hours and put them in the fridge until we were ready to eat them. I cooked asparagus in the oven (10 minutes at 450, the easiest thing ever!) and afterward I put the thighs in the broiler for about 3 minutes per side. Oh man, the simplest dinner, it required almost no effort from me, and it was incredible.

20160912_191153

I’m very happy with where I’m at in this whole 30 journey. Bring on the rest of week 2!

Leave a Reply

