3

DAY 3:

Well, the hangover definitely ended up hitting hard yesterday. I had a monster headache that didn’t go away until some time during the night. I went to bed hungry last night, but sometimes that’s just something I have to do. I knew I had eaten plenty of good food and my body was fine, I was just suffering cravings.

I woke up feeling incredibly rested. I applied some sleepy time cream and diffused lavender and cedarwood last night so I don’t think I woke up a single time! I had a tiny headache but it went away once I got up and moving.

My day today has been so stressful getting ready for a day of meetings tomorrow. The paperwork felt like it was choking me out today so I haven’t had time to even consider how my body is doing. In some ways that’s good. It means I don’t have time for cravings or hunger pains. On the other hand it’s terrible, because when I finally stop to breathe all of the physical symptoms come crashing down on me. Sitting here writing this I’ve gotten hungry and a headache is setting in. I’ll have some trail mix or some fruit and I’ll be ok though. I also haven’t had enough water by half, so that is playing a role as well.

I’m feeling very grateful that I thought to plan a crock pot meal for today. Coming home to a Cajun seasoned pork shoulder all cooked up is going to be a real treat.

Menu for today:

Breakfast: same as yesterday (What? I’m a creature of habit!)

Lunch: Leftovers from last night’s AMAZING dinner. Oh my goodness, it turned out so well. I substituted boneless, skinless chicken thighs for the chicken breasts. We just love thighs so much, I can hardly even eat breasts anymore.

Dinner: Crock pot Cajun pork shoulder (heavenly!!) and spanish cauliflower rice. Here is the recipe. While cauliflower rice adds and extra step and more clean up, I just love it so much. This particular recipe makes me feel like I’m actually eating rice, so that’s a huge plus!

A new twist on a classic rice dish--try using cauliflower instead for a grain-free Cauliflower Spanish Rice dish. 2

I decided last night that when I feel up for some working out I’m going to give yoga a try. This summer I participated in a book swap thing on facebook. It made it so I ended up with a few really interesting books I don’t think I would have ever picked up otherwise. One of them is this book:

At first I was like, “oh great, a wacko self-help book!” But boy was I wrong! This book, which I’ve only just barely begun reading, is incredible. It is inspiring, but not in an over the top, in your face kind of way. This is just a regular guy who did a whole mess of trial and error until he figured out some basic truths about life. Anyway, in the second chapter “Move” he talks about yoga and how it essentially saved his life. The part that really spoke to me is that it helped with his ailing body. He had a terrible back (sciatica pain, bulging discs, etc) and other injuries (like bad knees) that yoga helped heal and strengthen so he feels as though his body works again. This is very VERY interesting to me. I looked into a local yoga place, but it doesn’t really have a class that fits for me. The student rec center at WIU has a yoga class I could most likely make at least a few times a week. I still have a 10 punch card to get in there, so I think I’m going to give it a go. Even if I don’t like it, Stephen pointed out that I could always order a DVD and do it at home. I might like that even more, who knows?

I’m feeling excited and motivated today, not nearly as hungover as yesterday, and generally feeling really good about myself. That is the goal. That’s what keeps me going through all the hard parts of whole 30. The pay off is worth every bit of sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

